

CCGrid2001

IEEE International Symposium on Cluster Computing and the Grid

16 - 18 May 2001, Brisbane, Australia

http://www.ccgrid2001.qut.edu.au/ http://www.ccgrid.org

CALL FOR PAPERS & PARTICIPATION

The growing popularity of the Internet along with the availability of powerful computers and high-speed networks as low-cost commodity components are changing the way we do computing. Two advanced computing themes have emerged: "cluster computing" and "global network computing" (grid computing).

CCGrid2001, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Task Force on Cluster Computing (TFCC), is designed to bring together international cluster and network-based computing researchers, developers, and users. The symposium will serve as an international forum to present the latest work, and highlight related activities from around the world.

The following topics concerning Cluster and Grid Computing are of interest, but not limited to:

- Hardware and Software (based on PCs, Workstations, SMPs or Supercomputers)
- Middleware for Clusters and Grids
- File Systems and Parallel I/O
- Scheduling and Load Balancing
- Programming Models, Tools, and Environments
- Communication systems such as: Message Passing Systems e.g. MPI and PVM or Shared Memory Systems
- Programming Languages and System Software for supporting Grids and Clusters
- System Management and Administration
- Performance Evaluation and Modeling
- Resource Management and Scheduling
- Computational, Data, and Information Grid
- Computational Economy
- Problem Solving Environments
- Data Structure and Algorithms
- Scientific, Engineering, and Commercial Applications for Clusters and Grids
- Portal Computing / Science Portals

PAPER SUBMISSION

Authors are invited to submit papers of not more than 8 pages of double column text using single spaced 10 point size type on 8.5 x 11 inch pages, as per IEEE 8.5 x 11 manuscript guidelines, see:

http://www.computer.org/cspress/instruct.htm

Authors should submit a PostScript (level 2) or PDF file. Paper submission instructions will be posted on the conference web site. Queries may be directed to the PC chair: p.roe@qut.edu.au. The proceedings will be published through the IEEE Computer Society Press, USA and online through the IEEE Digital Library.

CHAIRS & COMMITTEES

Honorary Chairs

Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee/ORNL, USA. Greg Pfister, IBM Server Technologies Division, Austin, USA.

General Chairs

George Mohay, Queensland Uni. of Technology, Australia. Rajkumar Buyya, Monash University, Australia.

Vice Chair

Wolfgang Gentzsch, Sun Microsystems, Palo Alto, USA.

Program Committee Chair Paul Roe, Queensland University of Technology, Australia.

Program Committee Vice Chairs

David Bader, University of New Mexico, USA. Mark Baker, University of Portsmouth, UK. Hai Jin, University of Southern California, USA. Alexander Reinefeld, ZIB, Germany. Albert Zomaya, University of Western Australia, Australia.

Publicity Chair Cho-Li Wang, University of Hong Kong, HKSAR/China.

IMPORTANT DATES

Papers Due: Notification of Acceptance: Camera Ready Papers Due: 4 November 2000 20 December 2000 24 January 2001 CCGrid2001

PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- David Abramson, Monash University, Australia.
- Ishfaq Ahmad, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China.
- Srinivas Aluru, Iowa State University, USA
- Cosimo Anglano, Universita' del Piemonte Orientale, Italy.
- Amy Apon, University of Arkansas, USA.
- Hamid Arabnia, University of Georgia, USA.
- David Bader, University of New Mexico, USA.
- Mark Baker, University of Portsmouth, UK.
- Francine Berman, UCSD, USA.
- Robert G. Brown, Duke University, USA.
- Marian Bubak, Institute of Computer Science, AGH, Poland.
- Franck Cappello, Université de Paris Sud, France.
- Toni Cortés, Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.
- Paul J Darwen, University of Queensland, Australia.
- Fikret Ercal, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA.
- Ian Foster, Argonne National Laboratory, USA.
- Dennis Gannon, Indiana University and NASA Ames Research Center, USA.
- Al Geist, Oak Ridge National Lab., USA.
- Alan D. George, University of Florida, USA.
- Wolfgang Gentzsch, GRIDware Inc., Germany.
- Andrzej Goscinski, Deakin University, Australia.
- Salim Hariri, The University of Arizona, USA.
- Ken Hawick, The University of Adelaide, Australia.
- Gernot Heiser, Uni. of New South Wales, Australia.
- Hermann Hellwagner, Uni. of Klagenfurt, Austria.
- Chris Ho Stuart, Queensland University of Technology, Australia.
- Yutaka Ishikawa, Real World Computing partnership, Japan.
- Heath James, University of Adelaide, Australia.
- Hai Jin, University of Southern California, USA.
- Chris Johnson, Australian National University, Australia.
- Pete Keleher, University of Maryland, USA.
- Wayne Kelly, Queensland University of Technology, Australia.
- Chung-Ta King, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan.
- Domenico Laforenza, CNUCE-Institute of the Italian National Research Council, Italy.
- Francis Lau, University of Hong Kong, China.
- Craig A. Lee, The Aerospace Corp., USA.
- David A. Lifka, Cornell University, USA.
- Thomas Ludwig, TU Munich, Germany.

- Glenn Luecke, Iowa State University, USA.
- Bruce Maggs, Carnegie Mellon Uni., USA.
- Sam Makki, Queensland University of Technology, Australia.
- Evangelos Markatos, ICS-FORTH and University of Crete, Greece.
- Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan.
- John O'Callaghan, Australian Partnership for Advanced Computing, Australia.
- Stephan Olariu, Old Dominion University, USA.
- Marcin Paprzycki, University of Southern Mississippi, USA .
- Ira Pramanick, Sun Microsystems, USA.
- Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA.
- C.P. Ravikumar, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi, India.
- Daniel A. Reed, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), USA.
- Alexander Reinefeld, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum für Informationstechnik Berlin (ZIB), Germany.
- Paul Roe, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
- Stephen Scott, Oak Ridge National Lab., USA.
- Hong Shen, Griffith University, Australia.
- Thomas Sterling, California Institute of Tech., USA.
- Ivan Stojmenovic, University of Ottawa, Canada.
- El-ghazali Talbi, University of Lille, France.
- Domenico Talia, ISI- CNR, Italy.
- Kenji Takeda, University of Southampton, UK.
- Valerie Taylor, Northwestern University, USA.
- Rajeev Thakur, Argonne National Laboratory, Chicago, USA.
- Putchong Uthayopas, Kasetsart University, Thailand.
- Mateo Valero, Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain.
- Nalini Venkatasubramanian, University of California, Irvine, USA.
- Cho Li Wang, Uni. of Hong Kong, China.
- Zhiwei Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China.
- Xiaodong Zhang, The College of William and Mary, USA.
- Hee Yong Youn, Information and Communication University, Korea.
- Chung-Kwong Yuen, National University of Singapore, Singapore.
- Albert Zomaya, Uni. of Western Australia, Australia.

